Prime Minister Theresa May has survived a vote of no confidence in her leadership.

At least 48 Conservative MPs submitted letters of no confidence to the chairman of the backbench 1922 committee chairman Sir Graham Brady and this triggered the motion of no confidence. Conservative MPs voted on the motion earlier this evening. 117 MPs voted for the motion; 200 MPs voted against the motion. Sir Graham announced that the majority of MPs had confidence in Mrs May as Prime Minister.

She has therefore survived the vote and will continue as Prime Minister. Mrs May still has to get the majority of MPs in the House of Commons to agree to the deal she has negotiated with the EU and this may be more difficult to achieve as she is at odds with so many in her own party.

Jacob Rees-Mogg said that as the PM clearly didn’t have the confidence of her backbenchers, she should resign immediately,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email